back to the classics

I read a lot of books, watch a lot of shows and movies. I enjoy a good story. Classics are my favorites. I love reading classic literature. It’s something I have enjoyed since I was a kid. I started with books called Great Illustrated Classics. They were abridged versions of the books with illustrations. It was a great thing for me. They kept me interested with the pictures. Now that I’m older I just enjoy them so much more. They can really teleport you into another time.

My favorites are Little Dorrit, Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion, and many more. I can’t really narrow it down to just a few but those three I really love. Especially Little Dorrit. Such a great story. It’s nice to get away from our world today and take a trip back. To a time when people were more proper and respectful. I would love to be able to travel back and live in those times. More of a time machine type thing that way I could come back. I do enjoy my modern conveniences.

I came across a mini series a year or two ago called North and South.71njEyziG8L._SL1462_

It’s fantastic and I would highly recommend it. It is a romance and perhaps that will turn some people off, but you know you have to give them a try. It has it’s ups and downs. Sometimes you are happy sometimes you’re angry and then you will be crying. A full spectrum of emotion, but so worth it.

 

 

As the daughter of a middle-class parson, Margaret Hale has enjoyed a privileged upbringing in rural southern England. When her father uproots the family to take work in the northern mill town of Milton, Margaret is shocked by the dirt, the noise and the gruffness of the people, but she reserves her highest contempt for the charismatic mill-owner John Thornton.Order from Amazon.com

I have actually watched it 6 times. It’s a go to for the days when you want a good romantic story that isn’t sexualized like todays romance stories. If you’re looking for that just go with 50 shades because this isn’t about sex. It’s a story about falling in love with someone by growing to love them not just instant attraction. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. If not that’s okay these aren’t for everyone.

Perhaps a little broken and random today, sorry.

keep surviving

Leave a Reply

